Ely's Kitchen

Chocolate and other remedies

Bread, Love and Dreams – Pane, Amore e Fantasia

“Che te magni?
Pane.
E che ci metti dentro?
Fantasia, marescia’.” – Pane, Amore e Fantasia

“What are you eating?
Bread.
And what do you put inside it?
Dreams, marshal.” – Bread, Love and Dreams

bfi-00n-ut2

Bread is probably one of the most wonderful things ever discovered on this planet. How something as simple as flour and water can produce something as marvelous as bread never stops amazing me. By far, I prefer preparing my own then buying it at the store, so when I have some free time, first thing I do, is prepare some dough. This time I tried going for flat bread, what in Italy we call Piadina, and then I tried going for Naan bread, although I wasn’t satisfied with the output of the latter so, I will post the pictures but I will reconsider the recipe before posting it. If any of you have suggestions or already have made Naan bread successfully, hit me up!

Il pane è sicuramente una delle cose più belle scoperte sul nostro pianeta. Come una cosa semplice come acqua e farina possa produrre un risultato cosi incredibile come il pane, non smetterà mai di stupirmi. Di gran lunga, preferisco prepare il pane in casa, piuttosto che acquistarlo al supermercato, quindi quando ho un po di tempo libero, la prima cosa che faccio è preparare un bell’impasto. Questa volta ho provato a fare le piadine, poi ho provato a preparare il Naan, un pane indiano, assolutamente delizioso, purtroppo non ero molto soddisfata del risultato di quest’utimo, quindi pubblicherò le foto ma non condividerò la ricetta perchè voglio prima perfezionarla. Se qualcuno di voi ha già provato a preparare questo pane con risultati soddisfacenti, fatevi sentire!

INGREDIENTS FOR FLAT BREAD/INGREDIENTI PER LA PIADINA

400g Flour – Farina

2tsp baking powder – 2 cucchiaini di lievito

1tsp salt – 1 cucchiaino di sale

4 tbsp of extravergin olive oil – 4 cucchiai di olio d’oliva extravergine

250ml hot water – 250ml acqua calda

SONY DSC

Mix all the dry ingredients, then add the oil and finally add the hot water. Mix well until you obtain a soft dough which does not result too sticky. Knead the dough with your hands for 10 mins and let it rest for about 30mins.

Mescolate assieme tutti gli ingredienti secchi, aggiungete l’olio ed infine l’acqua calda. Continuate ad impastare fino a quando non avrete ottenuto un impasto morbido e non troppo colloso. Impastate per altri 10 minuti, dopo di che lasciate riposare per una mezzoretta.

SONY DSC

On a clean surface stretch out the dough after having divided it in small balls of roughly 60g. Heat on medium-high heat for a couple minutes on each side. Serve warm as you please, sweet with nutella or savoury with ham and cheese!

Tip: And why not serve your savoury piadina with some home made potato chips!

Su di una superficie pulita, dopo aver diviso l’impasto in palline da 60g, stendete il tutto con il mattarello. Riscaldate la piadina a fuoco vivo per qualche minuto. Servite caldo a vostro piacimento, dolci con la nutella, o salate con prosciutto e formaggio!

Consiglio: E perchè no, accompagnate la vostra piadina salata con delle patatine fritte fatte in casa!

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Here is a picture of how the Naan bread turned out:

Ecco una foto, invece, di come è venuto il Naan:

SONY DSC SONY DSC

15 comments on “Bread, Love and Dreams – Pane, Amore e Fantasia

  1. foodnuggets
    March 11, 2015

    Bellissimo post, Ely. Ci sono due riferimenti a due mie grandi passioni: cibo e cinema. La piadina, poi, è sempre un successo.🙂

    • elyann14
      March 11, 2015

      Grazie Sonia! Ehh, che mondo sarebbe senza piadina =) 😉

  2. mcaseyjorgenson
    March 11, 2015

    Yum! Yum! Yum!

  3. Cryptologica
    March 12, 2015

    Oooh Piadina? Never had it but it looks delicious! I really want to learn how to make naan now, I had some excellent naan a couple days ago and am craving it again. I think they might use a wood or tandoori oven to make them bubble and char beautifully, but I haven’t done much research on the subject yet. Not sure how to reproduce at home either if that’s the case haha Keep trying, maybe together we can figure it out.

    • elyann14
      March 12, 2015

      Ah, that would be the reason mine did not become as bubbly as I was hoping… I need to build myself a wood/tandoori oven now!😛 I’ll keep trying though, maybe there is a secret way of doing it without the special oven😉 (if you find the secret let me know! =D )

      • Cryptologica
        March 20, 2015

        I bought a pizza stone this week and it made the naan super puffy😀 (maybe a bit too much lol) I’ve seen people on Youtube use a gas burner to char their naan but I haven’t attempted it myself. I image you could try a 500 degree oven on a baking sheet if the others are impossible for you. Maybe I’ll do a naan blog post tomorrow :p

      • elyann14
        March 31, 2015

        Sorry for the late reply but I was away.. You bought one? That’s so awesome!

      • elyann14
        March 31, 2015

        Did you do the blog post in the end?😀

      • Cryptologica
        April 3, 2015
      • elyann14
        April 3, 2015

        AMAZING!!😉

  4. lapetitepaniere
    March 12, 2015

    Delicious🙂

  5. TheVersatileWoman
    March 13, 2015

    The breads look amazing. Naan bread is quite easy to make though. You need to use buttermilk instead of water let it proof for a while🙂

    • elyann14
      March 13, 2015

      Ahhhh, I see!! That might make a difference… I didn’t think of using buttermilk… thank you for the tip! =)

  6. nerakc1
    April 23, 2015

    Thank you for stopping by my Blog and liking my recipe. Your blog is wonderful, I love your piece on Andalucia, it’s a wonderful place. I love this recipe for flat bread, I too love my bread and have yet to try a flat bread, so will have a little go at this, thank you for sharing.

    • elyann14
      April 23, 2015

      Dear Karen, thank you for stopping by mine, and leaving this sweet comment! =) I’m glad you enjoyed my posts, Andalucia is a beautiful place, so many wonderful places to discover! =)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2015 by in Baking, Food, Italian, Recipes, Ricette and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,523 other followers

